Annual Report on Governance: 1 September 2022 to 31 August 2023

Governors hold an important public office and in the interests of transparency, their identity and arrangements for governance should be known to the school and the wider community.

Governing Body role and remit

The governing body is the school's accountable body. It sets the strategic direction of the school, providing challenge and support by monitoring, reviewing and evaluating. It is responsible for the conduct of the school and for promoting high standards. The governing body aims to ensure that children are attending a successful school which provides them with the very best possible start to their education, developing personal aspiration and a lifelong love of learning.

There are 2 full governing body meetings per term. The minutes are available for public review.

Key roles during 2022/23 were held by:

Chair of Governors:
Vice Chair of Governors:
SEND Governor:
Safeguarding Governor:
Angela Gage
Sarah Sheridan
Angela Gage

These roles are reviewed in September each year

Committee Structure

The committees normally meet each term to approve and review decisions, review policies, monitor performance, evaluate effectiveness and make recommendations. The committees provide minutes relating to their activities, the minutes of committees are reviewed and discussed at whole governing body meetings. Minutes are available for public review.

Committees will no longer operate under Penrose Trust so our 2 newest governors are not being placed in committees but are able to visit any committee meeting until the School becomes an Academy.

Committee Membership (at 1 September 2023)

Finance and Resources

Martyn Reason (Chair)

John Clinton

Chris Cox

Ivv Scott

Jo Dedicoat

Roxanne Downes (Associate Member and School Business Manager)

Learning and Development

Frith Allum (Staff Governor)
John Clinton (Chair)
Angela Gage
Lesley Fisk
Vici Morris (Associate Governor)

Personnel

Hansa Bhatt Angela Gage Jo Dedicoat Sarah Sheridan (Chair)

Head Teachers Performance Review Group

Angela Gage (Chair)
Frozen Vacancy
External Advisor
This group will no longer operate under Penrose Trust

Pay Committee

Angela Gage (Chair)
Sarah Sheridan (Chair of Personnel)
Martyn Reason (Chair of Finance and Resources)

The Head, Chair and Vice Chair met regularly to discuss school and governance matters. Minutes are confidential.

There are a number of short-term committees that any non-staff member of the governing body may be called upon to serve, depending on requirements: Pupil Disciplinary, Appeals and Hearings.

Governing Body membership 1 September 2023 (Term of office)

Jo Dedicoat	Headteacher	Not Applicable
Chris Cox	Parent Governor	12.10.21 - 11.10.25
Emma Thomson	Parent Governor	12.11.22 - 13.11.26
Frith Allum	Staff Governor	30.11.22 - 29.11.26
Roxanne Downes	Associate	Ongoing
Trish Clarke	Associate	04.07.23 - 30.08.24
Jade Spalding	Associate	Ongoing
Vici Morris	Associate	Ongoing
George Abery-Bone	Co-opted	04.07.23 - 03.07.27
Hansa Bhatt	Co-opted	10.02.20 - 09.02.24
John Clinton	Co-opted	15.12.20 - 14.12.24
Lesley Fisk	Co-opted	15.12.20 - 14.12.24
Angela Gage	Co-opted	28.01.23 - 27.01.27
Light Onyekachi	Co-opted	26.09.23 - 25.09.27

Martyn Reason		28.01.23 - 27.01.27
Ivy Scott Sarah Sheridan	Co-opted Co-opted	10.12.22 - 10.12.26 22.03.23 - 21.03.27

Roxanne Downes is the school Business Manager and an Associate Governor. She sits on the Finance Committee. She does not have voting rights.

Vici Morris is an Associate member of the governing body. She does not hold voting rights. She joined the governing body on 14.12.2021

Resignations from the governing body between 1.9.22 and 31.8.23

Christine Hayward moved from Co-opted Governor to Associate Governor on 31.08.22 for 12 months and was available to provide background support/mentoring to a new Safeguarding governor. This role has now finished.

Trish Clarke moved from Co-opted Governor on 04.07.23 to Associate Governor for 12 months to provide support to the governing body for adhoc panels if needed. She will not attend any meetings unless requested.

Jade Spalding (Deputy Headteacher) moved to Associate Governor from Co-opted Governor on 1 September 2022.

Peter Rogers 13.12.22 - 1.09.23

Vacancies at 1 September 2023

1 vacancy - Co-opted Governor

The governing body has frozen recruitment pending joining Penrose Trust.

Number of absences recorded during 2022/23

No Meetings during the year	FGB 6	Finance 6	Personnel 3	L&D 3
Frith Allum	Nil			Nil
Hansa Bhatt	1		Nil	
Trish Clarke	2		Nil	
John Clinton	1	Nil		1

Chris Cox	1	Nil		
Jo Dedicoat	Nil	1	Nil	
Roxanne Downes		Nil		
Lesley Fisk	Nil			Nil
Angela Gage	Nil		Nil	Nil
Vici Morris	2			Nil
Light Onyekachi	Nil			
Martyn Reason	Nil	Nil		
Peter Rogers	2	2		
Ivy Scott	4	2		
Sarah Sheridan	2		Nil	
Emma Thomson	Nil			

Pecuniary and material interest record

Jo Dedicoat is Headteacher

Roxanne Downes is the Business Manager for the school

Frith Allum is a member of the school leadership team

Jade Spalding is Deputy Headteacher

Vici Morris is an Assistant Head teacher

Angela Gage is a member of the Suffolk Learning and Improvement Network (SLIN) Angela Gage is a charity trustee (Adult literacy)

Ivy Scott is a tutor for Realise Futures (Adult Education charity) and holds a variety of regional posts for the National Education Union (see pecuniary interest record).