Annual Report on Governance: 1 September 2021 to 31 August 2022

Governors hold an important public office and in the interests of transparency, their identity and arrangements for governance should be known to the school and the wider community.

Governing Body role and remit

The governing body is the school's accountable body. It sets the strategic direction of the school, providing challenge and support by monitoring, reviewing and evaluating. It is responsible for the conduct of the school and for promoting high standards. The governing body aims to ensure that children are attending a successful school which provides them with the very best possible start to their education, developing personal aspiration and a lifelong love of learning.

There are 2 full governing body meetings per term, All meetings during 2021/22 were held virtually. The minutes are available for public review. We are hopeful that from September 2022 most meetings will be held in person.

Key roles during 2021/22 were held by:

Chair of Governors:
Vice Chair of Governors:
SEND Governor:
Safeguarding Governor:
Angela Gage
Angela Gage

These roles are reviewed in September each year

Committee Structure

The committees normally meet each term to approve and review decisions, review policies, monitor performance, evaluate effectiveness and make recommendations. The committees provide minutes relating to their activities, the minutes of committees are reviewed and discussed at whole governing body meetings. Minutes are available for public review.

Committee Membership (at 31 August 2022)

Finance and Premises

Martyn Reason (Chair)
John Clinton
Alice Hardie
Jo Dedicoat

Roxanne Downes (Associate Member and School Business Manager)

Learning and Development

Frith Allum (Associate Governor)
John Clinton
Angela Gage (Acting Chair)
Ivy Scott
Lesley Fisk

Jade Spalding
Vici Morris (Associate Governor)

Personnel

Hansa Bhatt Trish Clarke (Chair) Angela Gage Jo Dedicoat Sarah Sheridan

Head Teachers Performance Review Group

Angela Gage (Chair) Trish Clarke External Advisor

Pay Committee

Angela Gage (Chair) Trish Clarke Martyn Reason

The Head, Chair and vice chair met regularly to discuss school and governance matters. Minutes are confidential.

There are a number of short-term committees that any non-staff member of the governing body may be called upon to serve, depending on requirements: Pupil Disciplinary, Appeals and Hearings.

Governing Body membership 31 August 2022 (Term of office)

Jo Dedicoat	Headteacher	Not Applicable
Trish Clarke	LA Governor	12.01.19 - 11.01.23
Chris Cox	Parent Governor	12.10.21 - 11.10.25
Alice Hardie	Parent Governor	13.11.18 - 12.11.22
Frith Allum	Associate	02.09.21 - 01.09.23
Roxanne Downes	Associate	Ongoing
Christine Hayward	Associate	31.08.22 - 30.08.23
Vici Morris	Associate	14.12.21 - 13.12.23
Hansa Bhatt	Co-opted	10.02.20 - 09.02.24
John Clinton	Co-opted	15.12.20 - 14.12.24
Lesley Fisk	Co-opted	15.12.20 - 14.12.24
Angela Gage	Co-opted	29.01.19 - 28.01.23
Martyn Reason	Co-opted	29.01.19 - 28.01.23
Ivy Scott	Co-opted	11.12.18 - 10.12.22
Sarah Sheridan	Co-opted	14.05.19 - 13.05.23
Jade Spalding	Co-opted	14.04.19 - 13.05.23

Roxanne Downes is the school Business Manager and an Associate Governor. She sits on the Finance Committee. She does not have voting rights.

Frith Allum is an Associate member of the governing body. She does not hold voting rights. She joined the governing body on 02.09.2021.

Vici Morris is an Associate member of the governing body. She does not hold voting rights. She joined the governing body on 14.12.2021

Resignations from the governing body between 1.9.21 and 31.8.22

Christine Hayward moved from Co-opted Governor to Associate Governor on 31.08.22 for 12 months and will be available to provide background support/mentoring to a new Safeguarding governor. She will not attend any meetings unless requested.

Laura Goodfellow (staff Governor) - resigned from 5.07.2022

Vacancies at 1 September 2022

1 vacancy - Co-opted Governor

1 vacancy - staff Governor

Number of absences recorded during 2021/22

Notes

Jade Spalding - maternity leave Laura Goodfellow - maternity leave Ivy Scott - sabbatical leave for part of the year

No Meetings	FGB 6	Finance 5	Personnel 3	L&D 3
Frith Allum	3	N/A	N/A	Nil
Hansa Bhatt	1	N/A	1	N/A
Trish Clarke	1	N/A	Nil	N/A
John Clinton	Nil	Nil	N/A	N/A
Chris Cox	Nil	2	N/A	N/A
Jo Dedicoat	Nil	Nil	Nil	N/A
Roxanne Downes	N/A	Nil	N/A	N/A

Lesley Fisk	1	N/A	N/A	1
Angela Gage	Nil	1	Nil	Nil
Alice Hardie	4	2	N/A	N/A
Vici Morris	1	N/A	N/A	1
Martyn Reason	Nil	Nil	N/A	N/A
Ivy Scott	4	N/A	N/A	3
Sarah Sheridan	1	N/A	Nil	N/A

Pecuniary and material interest record

Jo Dedicoat is Headteacher

Roxanne Downes is the Business Manager for the school

Frith Alum is a member of the school leadership team

Jade Spalding is Deputy Headteacher

Laura Goodfellow was Assistant Headteacher during 2021/22 (See resignations)

Vici Morriss is an Assistant Head teacher

Angela Gage is a member of the Suffolk Learning and Improvement Network (SLIN) Angela Gage is a charity trustee (Adult literacy)

Ivy Scott is a tutor for Realise Futures (Adult Education charity) and holds a variety of regional posts for the National Education Union (see pecuniary interest record).